Tensile testing machine: Rely on a fast, cost-effective and non-destructive alternative

The tensile testing machine provides the user, among other things, with the characteristic values of the Rp0.2 yield strength and the tensile strength Rm. For example, the tensile strength determines the maximum stress with which a material can be loaded. To determine it, the tensile test is the most common method. However, there are individual disadvantages:

  • Components are destroyed
  • Costly and time-consuming sample preparation
  • Small parts often cannot be tested

ThereforeImprintec has developed a new method(indentation method) which combines the advantages of a flexible hardness tester with the comprehensive characteristic value determination of a tensile test machine.

The innovative testing technology from Imprintec combines the informative value of the tensile test and the simple application of the hardness test in one machine - you receive all important characteristic values in one test path.

Make your production plant fit for Industry 4.0! We would be happy to inform you about the possibilities of integration and automation by integrating a test module - contact us via contact form, by e-mail or call us directly at 0234/ 970 414 02.

How does a conventional tensile testing machine work?

For the test, one or more specimens are prepared from the material to be tested. The individual specimens are clamped in the tensile testing machine and uniformly stretched until they break. The measured values obtained in this process are plotted in a stress-strain diagram. From this, the characteristic values yield strength, tensile strength and elongation at break are determined. The exact procedure is regulated for metals in the standards DIN EN ISO 6892-1, ISO 6892, ASTM E 8, ASTM E 21, DIN 50154.

Thus, performing the tensile test with a tensile testing machine means:

  • preparation of the samples can be time consuming and expensive
  • due to the destruction of the specimen, the tensile test is only suitable as a component test to a limited extent
  • small geometries can only be tested to a limited extent
  • the test can only be automated in exceptional cases

To circumvent these limitations, Imprintec has developed a new method for materials testing: With the indentation method according to DIN SPEC 4864, a fast, cost-efficient, pinpoint and non-destructive determination of the stress-strain curve is possible. 

Correlation of tensile strength Rm between tensile test and indentation method for steel
Correlation of tensile strength Rm from tensile test (y-axis) and indentation method (x-axis)

What is the performance of the testing machine i3D from Imprintec compared to the tensile testing machine?

With the test method according to DIN SPEC 4864, Imprintec combines the simplicity of hardness testing with the detailed informative value of a tensile test machine. The software-based comparison of FEM simulations with real measured data provides you with the desired characteristic values 0.2% proof stress Rp0.2 and tensile strength Rm.

Sequence of the procedure with the i3D testing machine:

  • Creation of a test print
  • 3D measurement of the test impression
  • The software algorithm determines the values by matching them with FEM simulations

The entire procedure is fully automatic and takes only a few seconds. The operating user only needs basic knowledge of materials testing - comparable to that of hardness testing. This eliminates the need for time-consuming sample preparation - you save valuable time and money with the indentation process.

We would be happy to demonstrate the operation of our strength testing machine (or hardness and tensile testing machine) in person - simply make an appointment with us for a product demonstration in Bochum!

i3D WLI

The testing machine i3D from Imprintec: Convince yourself of the advantages of the combined hardness and tensile testing machine

Real and local component inspection, at incoming and outgoing goods as well as in the intermediate inspection - with reliable results for the

Tensile strength Rm

Yield strength Rp0.2

in just one work step - this is what the i3D testing machine from Imprintec does.

This results in decisive advantages for your metalworking company:

  • Cost savings: The time-consuming and cost-intensive preparation of samples is eliminated, as is the expensive use of personnel and machinery for internal testing.
  • Time saving: The testing time can be reduced from several days when using an external tensile test in a materials testing laboratory to a few minutes.
  • Conservation of resources: The innovative universal testing machine enables low-destructive testing.
  • Pinpoint accuracy: Unlike tensile testing machines, the indentation method allows the stress-strain curve to be determined with pinpoint accuracy.
  • Versatility: Even small components and samples can be tested.

Imprintec offers the fast and low-destructive tensile test alternative not only as an individually configurable testing machine - the modification of existing testing systems is also possible.

Feel free to contact us personally:

+49 (0) 234 970 414 0 1

 

Imprintec GmbH
Universitätsstraße 142 
44799 Bochum
T +49 (0) 234970414 00
F +49 (0) 234970414 09
info@imprintec.de

Zugprüfmaschine: Setzen Sie auf eine schnelle, ko­sten­gün­stige und zer­störungs­arme Alternative

Die Zugprüfmaschine liefert dem Benutzer unteranderem die Kennwerte der Rp0,2-Dehngrenze und der Zugfestigkeit Rm. Beispielsweise bestimmt die Zugfestigkeit die maximale Spannung, mit der ein Werkstoff belastet werden kann. Um ihn zu bestimmen, ist der Zugversuch das gängigsten Verfahren. Doch das Verfahren birgt individuelle Nachteile:

  • Bauteile werden zerstört
  • Kosten- und Zeitaufwändige Probenvorbereitung
  • Kleine Teile können oft nicht geprüft werden

Daher hat Imprintec ein neues Verfahren (Eindruckverfahren) entwickelt, das die Vorteile eines flexiblen Härteprüfgerätes mit der umfassenden Kennwertermittlung einer Zug­versuchs­maschine kombiniert.

Die innovative Prüftechnik von Imprintec vereint die Aussage des Zugversuchs durch eine Zugprüfmaschine und die Einfachheit der Härteprüfung in einer Maschine – Sie erhalten alle wichtigen Kennwerte in einem Prüfweg.

Machen Sie Ihre Produktionsanlage fit für Industrie 4.0! Gerne informieren wir Sie über die Möglichkeiten von Integration und Automatisierung durch Integration eines Prüfmoduls – kontaktieren Sie uns per Kontaktformular, per E-Mail oder rufen Sie uns unter 0234/ 970 414 02 direkt an.

Wie arbeitet eine kon­ventio­nelle Zug­prüfmaschine­maschine?

Für die Prüfung werden ein oder mehrere Proben aus dem zu untersuchenden Material präpariert. Die einzelnen Proben werden in die Zugprüfmaschine eingespannt und so lange gleichmäßig gedehnt, bis sie brechen. Die dabei ermittelten Messwerte werden in einem Spannungs-Dehnungs-Diagramm abgebildet. Hieraus werden die Kennwerte Dehngrenze, Zugfestigkeit und Bruchdehnung ermittelt. Die genaue Vorgehensweise ist für Metalle in den Normen DIN EN ISO 6892-1, ISO 6892, ASTM E 8, ASTM E 21, DIN 50154 geregelt.

Die Durchführung des Zugversuchs mit einer Zugprüfmaschine bedeutet somit:

  • die Vorbereitung der Proben kann zeitaufwendig und teuer sein
  • durch die Probenzerstörung ist der Zugversuch nur eingeschränkt als Bauteilprüfung geeignet
  • kleine Geometrien können nur bedingt geprüft werden
  • die Prüfung kann nur in Ausnahmefällen automatisiert werden

Um diese Einschränkungen zu umgehen, hat Imprintec ein neues Verfahren für die Werkstoffprüfung entwickelt: Mit dem Eindruckverfahren nach DIN SPEC 4864 ist eine schnelle, kosteneffiziente, punktgenaue und zerstörungsarme Bestimmung der Spannungsdehnkurve möglich. 

Korrelation von Zugfestigkeit Rm zwischen Zugversuch und Eindruckverfahren für Stahl
Korrelation der Zugfestigkeit Rm aus Zugversuch (y-Achse) und Eindruckverfahren (x-Achse)

Was leistet die Prüf­maschine i3D von Imprintec im Vergleich zur Zug­prüf­maschine?

Mit dem Prüfverfahren nach DIN SPEC 4864 kombiniert Imprintec die Einfachheit der Härteprüfung mit der detaillierten Aussagekraft einer Zugversuchsmaschine. Durch den softwarebasierten Abgleich von FEM Simulationen an reale Messdaten erhalten Sie die gewünschten Kennwerte Rp0,2-Dehngrenze und Zugfestigkeit Rm.

Ablauf des Verfahrens mit der Prüfmaschine i3D:

  • Erzeugung eines Prüfeindrucks
  • 3D-Vermessung des Prüfeindrucks
  • Der Software-Algorithmus bestimmt die Werte durch einen Abgleich mit FEM-Simulationen

Das gesamte Verfahren erfolgt vollautomatisch und in wenigen Sekunden. Der bedienende Anwender benötigt lediglich Grundkenntnisse in der Werkstoffprüfung – vergleichbar mit denen der Härteprüfung. Dadurch entfällt die aufwendige Probenvorbereitung – Sie sparen mit dem Eindruckverfahren kostbare Zeit und Geld.

Gerne führen wir Ihnen den Ablauf unserer Festigkeitsprüfmaschine (bzw. Härte- und Zugprüfmaschine) persönlich vor – vereinbaren Sie dafür einfach einen Termin zur Produktdemonstration in Bochum mit uns!

i3D WLI

Die Prüfmaschine i3D von Imprintec: Überzeugen Sie sich von den Vorteilen der kom­binierten Härte- und Zug­prüfmaschine

Echte und lokale Bauteilprüfung, beim Warenein- und a–ausgang sowie in der Zwischenprüfung – mit verlässlichen Ergebnissen zur

Zugfestigkeit Rm

Rp0,2-Dehngrenze

in nur einem Arbeitsschritt – das leistet die Prüfmaschine i3D von Imprintec.

Daraus resultieren entscheidende Vorteile für Ihr metallverarbeitendes Unternehmen:

  • Kostenersparnis: Die aufwendige und kostenintensive Vorbereitung von Proben entfällt ebenso wie teurer Personal- und Maschineneinsatz bei interner Prüfung.
  • Zeitersparnis: Die Prüfzeit kann von mehreren Tagen beim Einsatz einer externen Zugprüfung in einem Werkstoffprüflabor auf wenige Minuten reduziert werden.
  • Ressourcenschonung: Durch die innovative Universalprüfmaschine ist eine zerstörungsarme Prüfung möglich.
  • Punktgenau: Anders als bei Zugprüfmaschinen ist mit dem Eindruckverfahren eine punktgenaue Bestimmung der Spannungsdehnungskurve möglich.
  • Vielseitigkeit: Auch kleine Bauteile und Proben können geprüft werden.

Imprintec bietet die schnelle und zerstörungsarme Zugversuchs-Alternative nicht nur als individuell konfigurierbare Prüfmaschine an – auch die Modifizierung bestehender Prüfsysteme ist möglich.

Sprechen Sie uns an.

Imprintec GmbH
Universitätsstraße 142 
44799 Bochum
T +49 (0) 234970414 00
F +49 (0) 234970414 09
info@imprintec.de